STLI Fellows for Excellence in Teaching

2024 – 2025 call for applications now open:

Are you doing something innovative in your classes you’d like to share with others? Would you like to do a deep dive on a new approach? Are you interested in researching teaching and learning concepts in your discipline? To foster academic innovation and teaching excellence across the university, the Studio for Teaching & Learning Innovation (STLI) will award up to three (3) Fellowships for Excellence in Teaching for the 2024-25 academic year.

Fellowships are open to all continuing instructional faculty from every school and department across the university. We are seeking Fellows who will explore and champion one or more innovative concepts or practices in higher education. Special consideration will be given to proposals that outline plans for dissemination of their research in the scholarship of teaching and learning, including but not limited to scholarly articles and conference presentations.

Fellows will receive $4000 compensation for the academic year, with possible funding for conference presentations in following years.

Successful applicants will research and then develop innovative concepts and tools with support from the STLI Team. While dissemination in scholarly journals or conferences is a desired goal, these opportunities are not always viable. Therefore, fellows who choose not to submit for publication or presentation at a national or regional conference will be expected to develop one workshop or presentation for the campus community, write a blog entry about their work in STLI’s Drive Through Pedagogy, and create a resource such as a short course or a teaching guide.

Application Deadline August 1, 2024

Questions? Contact Mike Blum at

2023 – 2024 Fellows

Matt Allar

Associate Professor of Theatre / Scenographer

Meghan Miller

Teaching Professor, Psychological Sciences


Associate Professor of Chinese Studies, Modern Languages & Literatures

Read more about Paul’s work with STLI

Past STLI Fellows
2021-2022 Fellows for Excellence in Teaching

• Leslie Cochrane – Senior Lecturer of English & Linguistics
• Joan Gavaler – Professor of Dance

2020 - 2021 Teaching Innovation Fellows

• Candice Benjes-Small – Head of Research, W&M Libraries
• Kristin Conradi Smith – Associate Professor, School of Education
• Paul Heideman – Professor, Biology
• Dana Lashley – Senior Lecturer, Chemistry
• Sara Mattavelli – Italian Language House Advisor, Lecturer of Italian Studies
• Anne Rasmussen – Professor of Music/Ethnomusicology, Bickers Professor of Middle Eastern Studies; Director, Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
• Meghan Sinton Miller – Senior Lecturer, Psychological Studies
• Dana Willner – Lecturer, Computer Science
• Peiyu Yang – Lecturer of Arabic Studies